A Melody in the wind

 

Music choice:

Paper Love

At the end of the world, the world border to the uninhabitable, there comes a girl in a white dress. Mind-shattering sadness washes over her. The damage had been dealt out, no one could save her now. A broken heart, even before she knew what it even was, a brush effect and the death to a forever home. She stands on a cliff, too far to turn back, too close to not be found.

 

 Is there a lifetime where happiness was the message I could have had? Is there a moment when betrayal didn’t have to be my middle name?

 

Her heart soars out with despair, she was in love with her best friend. One she knew who would never repay the love she had. It made her question about the life she was given.

 

Was it true? He fell in love with another girl. A girl opposite of who I am. So what if he did, I’m not his mom. I shouldn’t be concerned. It was almost time for him to do something about it. Like he said he would. Then we can just be friends. I hope. 

 

 “Just be friends.” Tears rolled down her cheek. She looked up. The cliff`s edge fell straight down to no water. There was nothing but the large forest of evergreen trees and the low-lying mist. A perfect hiding spot, where nothing could be seen and everything can wash away. The lack of philautia, self-love, and the bloom of self despising. She began to cry, and no one is there to hear her voice stifled in tears. There was no love at the bordering cliff, there is no hope at the border only the never-ending reflection. 

 

There is no reason for me to be here. I should get back home now. My mother should be worried about me.

 

She stood up and brushed her dress down. Then she pulled out a phone. It lit up with a picture of two smiling figures, a boy and a girl, there were no messages. 

 

Nevermind, she wouldn’t even notice me gone. I never made an impact on her anyway. Just average old me. Just friends with him.

 

She looked at her wrist there shows a red tally mark, unrequited love. She didn’t know when it appeared or who it actually was for; however, she denied the thoughts of it being the one who pops into her brain all the time. She sat down, legs over the edge swinging them back and forth, like a swing but it will never move. The silence edged her on to kill it with some noise. Typing into her phone, lyrics and a video popped out.

 

 How did it go again? 

 

She pressed play. Lyrics pump out into the air around her.

 

“Oh, I know that boy’s gonna rip me up,

‘Cause he ain’t that nice, he won’t do right,

He’ll leave a nasty cut.

Oh, I cry until I just dissolve,

Come on watch my heart turn to pulp

Like paper (paper-paper)

Paper Love

(Paper, paper love)”

 

She stands and twirls on the cliffside, singing along to the catchy song. It glides through the air towards her hometown. The melody caught the attention of people roaming the streets and a teenager boy holding a bouquet forget-me-not was walking up to a small house near the countryside. He stops in front of the door and knocks. The door swings open to a woman looking similar to the girl on the cliffside.

 

Hello Miss…

Ambrose, Kyra Ambrose. What brings you here, Levi? 

I’m looking for Sofia. Is she home? I heard her playing paper love.

No, I thought she was out with you.

 

The boy and the women looked at each other and realization draws over them. They turn to the bordering cliffside near them.

The girl continues to dance and sing replaying the song over and over,

 

“I believe, I believe in a line so thin,”

 

and the ground beneath her feet disappeared.

 

I’m. Falling?

 

Raising an arm out to catch nothing, she screams.

 

“Going down, going down ’til I chip my chin”

 

Sofia!

 

 

Pic Feature Lyric from Paper Love-Allie X

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 Comments


  1. Dear Melody,

    This was a fantastic piece! I enjoyed how you incorporated the song with your plot which I found very smart! I also liked the different fonts used for the different people and thoughts. One tiny thing I would recommend is just to go through your piece one more time to find any grammatical/ spelling errors. I’m excited to read more from you!

    Truly,
    Simran C.

    Reply

    1. To Simran C.
      Thank you for your comment and I have gone through for some grammar changes.
      Thank you for reading my blog.

      -Melody

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *